Adding People

video
 

There are multiple ways to add individuals to Groups.

Option 1: From the Group record on the Groups page

  • Open the desired Group, and go to the Participants sub-page.
  • Use the New button to add one person to the Group.
  • Use the Add button to add many people to the Group. All individuals must have the same Start Date and Group Role. This approach also allows you to use an existing selection of Participants from the Participants page.
  • There is a field called Employee Role and it defaults to No/False. This field was created early in MP history and has not been used for anything meaningful.

Video Topics: Adding Participants to Groups

0:15 - Finding the Participants to Add
0:30 - Saving the Selection
0:43 - Adding the Participants to the Group
1:15 - Editing Group Participant Records

Option 2: From the Participant record on the Participants page

  • Open the desired Participant record, and go to the Groups sub-page.
  • Use the New button to add the Participant to one Group.
  • Use the Add button to add the Participant to many Groups. The person would be placed in all selected Groups with the same Group Role and Start Date.

Option 3: From the Group Participants page

  • Go to People Lists > Group Participants > click New.

Option 4: From the Quick Add dialogue

  • Click Quick Add > Group Participants. 
  • This is in insert-only option. This is appropriate for volunteers and others who should not be granted edit rights to the other relevant pages and subpages in the platform.

Option 5: From the Check-in System

  • With the kiosk in Attended Mode, search for and locate a family.
  • Click Edit Family > Next > locate the record of the desired individual.
  • Select the event form Add to Activity.
  • Select the group from Add to Group.
  • This is an insert-only option:
    • Groups are listed if they are directly associated with the Event.
    • Groups may also be listed if they are associated with the Program to which the event belongs and Ignore Program Groups is set to No.
    • The current date is used and the default Group Role found on the Group Type record is used.

Option 6: From the Portal's My Groups page

  • With the Group leader logged into the Portal and accessing a Group on My Groups that is set to Available Online=Yes, click on the desired Group. 
  • Click View Members > Add Group Member. 
  • Search for the person by name and email or phone.
  • Click Select.
  • Set the Group Role and add an optional note.
  • Click Save.

Option 7: From the Portal's Group Finder page

  • Any person who finds a group through the Group_Finder.aspx page can click the "Sign up for this group" button.
  • Upon clicking the button the individual needs to authenticate (if they have not already done so).
  • The individual may type a note to the leader and click Sign up.

Option 8: Based on a certain Custom Form response

  • On the All Form Answers page, search for a specific Form Title, Field Label and Response (e.g., the people who responded "2nd Grade" to the "What grade are you going into?" question on the VBS form).
  • Select desired records.
  • Change Selection to Current/Unsaved Selection.
  • Click Tools > Transfer Selection:
    • Option: Copy to Another Page.
    • Target Page: Participants.
    • New Selection Name: indicate desired name (e.g., VBS 2nd Grade).
  • On the Groups page, search for and open the desired Group.
  • On the Participant sub-page, click Add and then [...].
  • In the Selection drop-down, choose the Selection you made above (e.g., VBS 2nd Grade).
  • Confirm Selection, indicate other information as needed and click Save.

Option 9: Based on an Event participation

  • On the Event Participants page, search for a specific Event Title and Date (e.g., the people who attended "Singles Coffee" on 1/23/2016).
  • Select desired records.
  • Change Selection to Current/Unsaved Selection.
  • Click Tools > Transfer Selection:
    • Option: Copy to Another Page.
    • Target Page: Participants.
    • New Selection Name: indicate desired name (e.g., Singles Coffee).
  • On the Groups page, search for and open the desired Group.
  • On the Participant sub-page, click Add and then [...].
  • In the Selection drop-down, choose the Selection you made above (e.g., Singles Coffee).
  • Confirm Selection, indicate other information as needed and click Save.

Option 10: Automatically placed into Groups upon event registration by using the Add to Group functionality in Option Prices

  • When creating an Option Price for your event registration, populate the "Add to Group" field. The registrant is automatically added to the Group if:
    • If the Participant is already a current Group participant, they won't be added.
    • If the Participant already exists in the Group but has a future End Date, they won't be added.
    • If the Participant does not already exist in the Group, a Group Participant record is created with a start date of the date registered and no end date. They will be added with the Default Group Role assigned to the Group's Group Type.
    • If the Participant exists but with a past End Date, a new Group Participant record is created with a start date of the date registered and no end date.

Managing Mishaps

If you forgot to clear your selection when adding people to a Group and now the wrong people in a Group, you can delete the Group Participant records. Note that deleting Group Participant records should only happen when the person shouldn't have been added to the Group in the first place - not if the person participated in the Group and is now just no longer participating (in the latter case, we recommend simply end-dating participants).

If you truly need to delete Group Participants, there you two options; either method deletes the Group Participants records without deleting the Participants or the Groups themselves (just the connection between them). As always, be cautious when using the Delete action (don't have the Delete option available? A SPoC can update your Security Role as needed).

  • Option 1: Go to the Groups page, open the desired Group and go to the Participant sub-page. Select the Participants to remove and click Delete.
  • Option 2: Go to People Lists > Group Participants, select the records to remove and click Delete.