Ending/Inactivating

 
Inactivate a Group
  1. Go to the Groups page, and open the desired Group.
  2. Click Edit.
  3. Add a date to the End Date field.
  4. Click Save.
Inactivate End Multiple Groups
  1. Go to the Groups page, and clear any currently selected records.
  2. Select the Groups to inactivate. 
  3. Change the Selection drop-down to view the current/unsaved selection.
  4. Click Assign.
  5. Check the box next to End Date, and indicate a date in the field. 
  6. Click OK.
  7. Confirm the assignment.
  8. Clear the selection.
End Dating Current Group Participants When Inactivating a Group
*Important* A trigger exists that automatically end dates Group Participants when an end date is added for the Group.

Subsequent changes to the End Date do not trigger ending/changing Group Participants End Dates (this only happens once). New Participants added to the Group after its been end-dated are not affected.

The End Date for Participants is only changed if:

  • The Group End Date was not previously set (not if changed from one date to another),
  • The Participant is in the Group at the time of end dating, and
  • The Participant has no end date or one in the future.

A view exists on the Group Participants to show you any records that need to be inactivated because they are currently in a group that has already been end dated or because the Contact record of the person in the group is now Inactive or Deceased.

And Don't Forget to Check
  • Available Online: You may set this value to No when end dating a Group, but that is not necessary as only current groups appear on the My Groups page of the Portal.
  • Reason Ended: Small group ministries may want to track why groups are ending. Use this field if that is a requirement in your church.