Managing Created Messages

communication-directors
 

Yikes! That message wasn't supposed to say that! Ever been there? So have we! Thankfully, Messages that have been sent or scheduled to send can be modified or canceled once "sent" has been clicked. You might need to act quickly, so we suggest brushing up on these tricks before you need them ;)

When you hit send in the New Message tool, Message records are simultaneously created and rendered as individual Recipient Messages. These Recipient records are the records that need to be modified or canceled.

These steps must be taken while the Message still has the "Ready to Send" status. If the Message status is already "Sent," it cannot be retracted. A routine runs every 1 to 5 minutes to check if there are new messages to send, so act quickly. If your message is scheduled to send, you have until the scheduled send time to cancel it or make modifications.

Cancel a Message

From Messages
  1. Navigate to Communications > Messages
  2. Open the message record you'd like to cancel and update the Status to "Draft."
  3. Navigate to My Messages and use the My Drafts view to find the message you'd like to cancel.
  4. Select the message.
  5. Click Delete Message.
From My Messages

Don't have edit rights on the Messages page? No worries! You can cancel your message from your My Messages page if the status is still "Ready to Send."

  1. From the Home page, select "My Messages."
  2. Use the "Ready to Send" view to find the Message record you want to modify.
  3. Open the Message record.
  4. Note: When you open your "Ready to Send" message, the recipient selection will be cleared, which means there's no one to send it to. Mission accomplished!
  5. Click Save as Draft.
Note: Messages should not be Archived from the My Messages > Ready to Send view.

Modify a Message

  1. From the Home page, select "My Messages."
  2. Use the "Ready to Send" view to find the Message record you want to modify.
  3. Open the Message record.
  4. Edit your message.
  5. Note: When you open your "Ready to Send" message, the recipient selection will be cleared. You'll need to choose your recipients again.
    1. Choose the page your selection is on from the dropdown. Note: Only Global Filter pages are included in this dropdown.
    2. Use the three-dot picker to choose your selection.
  6. Click Send.

View a Ready to be Sent Message

Sometimes you don't need to cancel a message, you just want to confirm it's Ready to be Sent so you can fully enjoy your vacation without that nagging little doubt in the back of your head. Here are some pro tips to keep you sleeping well at night ...

  • The Ready to be Sent view does not show recipients, so it will show you the message itself, but not who it is being sent to. So as helpful as it is for canceling or modifying a message, it will only cause anxiety if you check it to confirm a recipient list. 
  • If you need to see who the message is scheduled to be sent to, you can find that list on the All Recipients page or ...
    1. Navigate to Messages
    2. Open the Message record by clicking on the message name
    3. Select the Recipients tab
  • If you do not edit your message, the recipient list will be retained. But if you modify the message in any way you'll need to reselect the recipient list. Read how to do that above.